Enrolled Agents Today

In 1997 I became an enrolled agent.  Wow that seems like a long time ago.  The process isn’t too different than when it began in 1884.  I was fingerprinted, background checked, had to provide several prior years of personal tax returns, and had to pass a 4 part, 2 day exam.  Currently it’s a 3 part exam. I was one of the lucky ones and passed on the first attempt.  That doesn’t happen often.  And of course I had to pay a fee for the exam and a fee for my license!  Every three years when my license comes up for renewal, I have to show that I’ve taken 72 hours of continuing education, including 2 hours each year of ethics.  And of course, pay another fee!  All this so I can call myself an Enrolled Agent and “practice before the IRS.”

Leave a Reply

